Monday, April 29, 2013

Binbougami ga! Anime Review


Some of you might wonder why I chose Binbougami ga, an anime without any kind of yuri actions involved, to write a review about. Well, this anime or more precisely the two main characters fall into the 4th category of yuri anime. You don’t know what I mean with that? Then read one of my earlier blog entries by clicking this link: http://yurireviews.blogspot.de/2013/03/different-kinds-of-yuri-in-anime.html
 
In short, our two main characters aren’t romantically interested in each other, nor do they interact with one another in a suggestive or even an overly friendly way. In fact, Momiji and Ichiko share a very strange kind of relationship, in which they seemingly hate each other but are still somehow friends. The reason why I still consider this an anime for yuri fans is the fact that the dynamics between those two are so great that I’m surely not the only person thinking that they would make a strange yet very cute couple.

Episodes: 13
Year: 2012
Creator: Yoshiaki Sukeno

Genre: Comedy, Parody, Fantasy, Adventure, School Life

Friday, April 26, 2013

Katahane Visual Novel Review

Don't read this if you are under the age of 18.
 
Developer: Tarte

Year: 2006

Genre: Yuri, Journey, Drama, Theater

Story: 7/10
The story takes place in a world with 3 kingdoms, the Red, White, and Blue Kingdom. While the game is divided into two parts, we start out with “Shirohane”:

Since there will be a theater festival taking place in their hometown soon, Wakaba, a young playwright, decides to write her own play and take part in the said festival. As many before her, she chooses to write about the traitor named Ein who killed a ruler of the White Kingdom a long time ago. This story is known all over the 3 kingdoms, making Ein one of the most despised men in the whole nation. Interestingly Wakaba decides to not depict Ein as the despised and much-hated traitor history makes everyone believe he is. She shows him as loyal supporter of the White Kingdom that neither betrayed nor killed their past ruler. Even though Wakaba receives a great deal of criticism for her choice of story, she is still able to find some participants willing to take part in this controversial play. Furthermore she even gets the chance to travel through the 3 kingdoms to find some more suitable actors to help her out. 

Monday, April 22, 2013

My Top 10 Yuri One-Shots


I know that many people don’t bother reading one-shots because they think that they are just too short to really leave some kind of impression on you. Some people even say that one-shots feel too rushed due to their length, so the story doesn’t even get the chance to become interesting. 
I have to completely disagree with them. One-shots are short, so far that’s correct, but that’s exactly what makes them so good. You don’t always need a (love) story with 20 chapters or even more. In fact one chapter can be just enough. If the story is good enough it can captivate you within only a few pages and furthermore leave a much greater impact on you than most lengthy manga could. 
So hopefully I can get some of you to try out some one-shots and maybe you’ll even come to like them.
 
This time it was really hard to not only choose the titles but also to put them in order of preferrence. There are so many yuri one-shots out there that it took me quite a while to just briefly go through them again to see which ones might make it to the list. 

So here you have it, my top 10 yuri one-shots. I hope I can show you some nice ones that you didn’t know before or maybe you’ll even find some interesting new artists.

10.
Title: Fuyu no Shi
Author: tamamusi
Genre: School Setting, Winter
Description: Atsuko always had an unusually high body temperature, making her the centre of attention in winter. And while her classmates try to avoid her during summer, only Minami stays by her side, proving that she is Atsuko’s only real friend.
Year: 2010
Pages: 11
Scanlation Group: Wings of Yuri

This is a really short and simple story, yet it is enormously cute and I’m sure this will bring a smile to your face.

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha The Movie 2nd A`s Review


I haven’t reviewed any of the Anime, Movies or Manga of the Nanoha series yet but since I watched this movie just recently, let’s start here.
 
Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha The Movie 2nd A`s first premiered in July 2012 while its DVD was released just recently.

The plot is based on the second season “Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A’s” and retells its main story in a slightly different and shortened way.

Genre: Magical Girls, Action, Drama, Adventure

Friday, April 19, 2013

Kämpfer Anime Review


Spoiler warning
 
Kämpfer (けんぷファ), which literally means „Fighter“ is a 12 episode long anime produced by Nomand, that aired between October 2 and December 17 2009.

Genre: Action, Comedy, Harem, High School Setting, Ecchi, Gender Bender

Story: 4/10
After having a weird dream, Natsuru Senou, a totally average guy, wakes up in his bed, wearing a strange blue bracelet he’s never seen before. As if this wouldn’t be weird enough, a stuffed animal that he just recently got as a present, starts talking to him, telling him that he was chosen to be a “Kämpfer” (German word for fighter). On top of that he is told that whenever he needs to fight an enemy he transforms into a girl, gaining magical powers and inhuman strength. 

Sounds weird huh? But trust me it gets even weirder!

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

About me

This blog is only a few weeks old but I totally forgot to introduce myself to you properly. So let me catch up on that now.

Saturday, April 13, 2013

My Top 10 Yuri Manga [Old]

Note: This is an old list, click here to see the new one.

10.
Title:  Lonely Wolf Lonely Sheep
Author: Mizutani Fuka
Genre: Drama, Insecurity, Romance, Fated Lovers
Description:   
Kakimoto Imari the cute, petite blonde. Kakimoto Imari the tall, tomboyish brunette. They share the same birth month and year, and both came to the accident ward of the same hospital on the same day seeking treatment for similar injuries.
This is the story of two women with very different lifestyles whose fates become inexplicably intertwined from the moment they first meet.
(mangaupdates.com)
Chapters: 1 volume, 4 chapters
Year: 2011
Scanlation Group: Lililicious

When it comes to yuri romance in manga, the stories are often similar. Two girls meet in school and fall in love. Even though I actually love stories like these, I still sometimes hope to find different stories, something out of the ordinary. Lonely Wolf and Lonely Sheep won’t provide you with a plot you’ve never seen before but it still is different from most “Yuri School Romances” and comes with some surprises as well.

Monday, April 8, 2013

Zettai Seiiki Shoujo Amnesian (Volume 1) Review



After Kannazuki no Miko and Kyoshiro to Towa no Sora, Kaishaku came up with yet another story about our two favorite lesbians, Chikane and Himeko.
Zettai Seiiki Shoujo Amnesian (絶対 少女 聖域 アムネシアン)surprisingly doesn’t show the typical mecha action we are used to from Kaishaku. This time we get some pretty violent swordplays.

Genre: Yuri, Action, Ecchi, Drama

Story: 4/10
Himeko Kurusu, who has lost both of her parents and her older sister, is living in a church, working as a nun and enjoying her quiet yet lonely life. One day, while cleaning up, she finds a girl, pierced by a sword, hanging lifelessly above the altar. Why does this girl resemble Himeko’s older sister so much and why do all of a sudden so many strange people appear and threaten her life?

I have to be honest, the description is so short because the plot is somehow so confusing and messed up that it’s hard to tell what is actually going on. It seems that Chikane was once one of the bad guys, but after being executed by them and only barely surviving she is diagnosed with amnesia, only remembering her own and Himeko’s name. Chikane dedicates her life to the only one that is left in her heart and promises to protect Himeko, the one she loves, at all costs. Himeko on the other hand is torn between suspicion towards this person that resembles her dead sister so much and pure joy at finally seeing her precious one again. 

Friday, April 5, 2013

Yuri Fanfiction Recommendations

I don’t really know how many of you like reading Fanfictions. Personally I do, I would even say I’m in love with many of them. So for everyone that is looking for some nice yuri fanfictions, let me give you some recommendations of those that I, so far, enjoyed the most.


You will find fanfictions of the following Anime: Mai Hime/Mai Otome, Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha/A’s/StrikerS and Kannazuki no Miko.

Before I’ll list them let me tell you that I know that many people are a little biased when it comes to fanfiction. I can kind of understand why, since many of them are poorly written and thus not very attractive for us readers, and that’s coming from me, a person who’s mother tongue isn’t even English…. But what I’m going to recommend you are stories that don’t only prove their quality with the amount of reviews they got, but that are also (at least in my eyes) written in a very appealing way.

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

Sono Hanabira 13: Character info and promo pics

Only read this if you’re over 18.
 
After speculating who exactly the two characters of "Longing of an Angel" are, Yurin Yurin just posted some updates revealing information about the characters and some promising pictures.

I’ve read many different assumptions, some saying they are the ever-missing nurses of St. Michael and some saying that this is only cosplay and they are just as every other character of the Sono Hanabira series, students of St. Michaels.

It turns out they both at some point graduated from St. Michaels, while one of them, Aihara Ringo is a first year student in nursing school and the other one, Takao Chiaki is both a nurse in the gastrointestinal surgery ward at Saint Michael’s General Hospital as well as a nursing instructor. 
Aihara Ringo (left), Takao Chiaki (right)

Monday, April 1, 2013

Doujinshi by Isya (434 Not Found)



Only read this if you are over 18.

Isya, also known under the name of “434 Not Found” is a female doujin artist mostly known for her works about anime such as Smile/Heartcatch/Suite Pretty Cure and Umineko no Naku Koro ni.
Most of her doujinshi have some adult content, in this case it means the display of 2 female characters having sex and Isya definitely delivers a lot when it comes to that, really A LOT.


I’m usually not bothered by sexual content, especially not when it’s about two girls, but I’m always a little wary. I’ve made some pretty bad experiences with adult manga and doujinshi, since rape, questionable fetishes and weird body proportions are themes you will find very often, fortunately not in Isya’s case. While the amount of sexual content is rather high and the portrayal of these scenes is very explicit, the sex is usually initiated by love rather than lust adding a lovely and sometimes cute touch to the whole act. I won’t deny that I enjoyed reading all of her works.